United Way Annual Meeting Sets Stage for 2018

You are here

Feb. 9, 2018--United Way recognized volunteer leadership and reported on 2017 work, elected 2018 Board members and Board leadership, and announced special award winners at the 2018 Annual Meeting at Missouri Western’s Fulkerson Center.

Special award winners were announced: Spirit of Community Award (honoring one exemplary business each year for outstanding community service and support of United Way)-Deluxe Truck Stop; Outstanding Partner Award (honoring area business or organization each year that has shown an exceptional history of partnership with United Way)-Junior League of St. Joseph and the St. Joseph Mustangs; the Outstanding Volunteer Award (honoring exemplary volunteers each year for outstanding volunteer service through United Way)-Seth Wright.

This event officially released the 2017 United Way Annual Report and included the first United Way Board meeting of 2018, recognizing retiring Board members and electing new Board members and officers.

Retiring United Way Board Members were: Eric Bradley, David Cripe, Roger Martin, Brad McAnally, Scott Murphy, Michael Pulido, and Seth Wright.

Volunteers who led United Way Committees in 2017 were: Tom Burke-Profit In Education© Council Co-Chair; David Cripe-Community Initiatives Chair; Pat Dillon-Success By 6® Partners Chair; Brandi Hoover-Community Investment Co-Chair; Ann Hoy-Finance Committee Chair; Steve Johnston-Marketing Committee Chair; Michelle Margulies-Community Investment Co-Chair; Roger Martin-Funding Model Review Team Chair; Brad McAnally-Nominating Committee Chair; Ron Auxier-Campaign Chair; and Betty Wymore-Profit In Education Council© Co-Chair.

At the meeting, Scott Albers, Mike Basch, Mike Doolan, Brennan Lehman, Terri Modlin, and Mike Moore were elected to the Board. Rall Bradley and Katie Carolus were elected to fill open Board spots. The following Board members were elected for a second three-year term: Ben Byrd, Elaine Coder, Ann Hoy, and Michelle Margulies.

2018 United Way Board officers elected at the meeting are: Dennis Rosonke, Chair; Ann Hoy, Vice Chair; Mark Wyble, Secretary; and Renee Hurd, Treasurer.

This year’s Annual Meeting highlighted United Way’s progress over the past year. More than 1,000 people volunteered with United Way in 2017. All were thanked. Special guests for the event were 26 currentparticipants of the United Way Leadership St. Joseph program.

The public was invited to the event, and 225 people RSVPed.

United Way is a non-profit agency that aims to improve lives through the caring power of community by focusing on education, health, and financial stability. United Way invites the community to LIVE UNITED by giving, advocating, and volunteering. United Way of Greater St. Joseph operates seven Initiatives/Programs, supports 17 local Partner Agencies. To learn more, follow the agency on Facebook, Twitter, or LinkedIn.